The Chakras: The Body’s Vital Energy Centers

Ancient Indian and Chinese Eastern medicine and philosophy have traditionally regarded the body and the life energy within as inseparable. The chakras are the central energy points within a person’s biological body. Likewise, all the vital functions within the human body, are determined by the energy that spins through the chakras; these are “whirlpools” or “energy wheels.”

The process of energy transformation happens within these centers. Vital energy circulates around the meridians within the body, and fuels all of the organs and systems within the human body with life force. Consequenetly, when the circulation of this life force energy stagnates, the human body can become susceptible to a variety of emotional, mental and physical disorders.

The Chakras in the Vedas

There are 49 chakras mentioned in the Vedas, seven of which are the main chakras along the spine. Twenty-one chakras are in the second circle, and 21 in the third circle. According to the Vedas, there are many energy meridians leading to different places within the body from the chakras. Three of these channels are basic; the “shushumna,” is a hollow channel leading along the spine. The other two energy channels along the spine are the “ida” and “pingala”, which are located on either side of the spine. The ida and pingala channels are the most active in most people, while shushumna is often stagnant.

The Seven Basic Chakras

The seven basic chakras along the spine spin at high speeds for healthy people, but slow during illness, or with old age. When in harmonious balance, the chakras are partially open, but closed chakras are unable to receive energy, which leads to various disorders.

The first chakra

Root chakra or “Muladhara,” is located at the base of the spine. Life force energy, which is the basis of a strong and healthy immune system, is stored within this chakra. The very will for life is within the root chakra. The primary symptoms of an unbalanced Muladhara chakra are paranoia, feeling faint, insecurity, and lack of faith in the future. The lack of activity in the Muladhara chakra triggers a lack of energy, digestive problems, and stress.

The second chakra

The sacral or Swadhistana, is located three or four finger widths below the belly button. This chakra is empathic, we sense other peoples’ emotions through the sacral chakra.

The third chakra

The solar plexus chakra, or “Manipura,” is found in the center of the solar plexus. This chakra is the distributor of energy produced by the digestive process and breathing. Symptoms of stagnant energy within the Manipura are increased worry, as nervous digestive disorders.

The fourth chakra

The Heart Chakra, also called the Anahata, is located within the heart. We give and receive love through this chakra. Symptoms of stagnant energy within the heart chakra include sad thoughts and loneliness.

The fifth chakra

The throat chakra or the Vishudha, is located at the throat and is the center of analysis and logic, or written and spoken communication. Symptoms of a low energy Vishuddha include a lack of emotional stability, and difficulties communicating.

The sixth chakra

The brow chakra or Ajna, is located between the eyebrows, an inch back, and is known as the “third eye.” The Adjna brings energy to the head and is responsible for our harmonious spiritual development. If the Ajna stops functioning properly, a decrease in intellect, headaches, and psychological problems may result.

The seventh chakra

The Crown Chakra, also called the Sahasrara, is at the top of the head, and is where an individual’s energy vibrates at the highest frequency. It is the gateway into the body for cosmic energy. A stagnant crown chakra results in a lack of inner wisdom, as well as a lack of intuition.

With this basic knowledge of the seven primary chakras, we can ask: “How do we use the chakras to find the root of our problems, and learn to control the functioning of the chakras within ourselves?”

Eastern Medicine and the Chakras

From the view point of Eastern Medicine, our physical health depends on the distribution of our life force energy; a low flow of life force energy inevitably causes problems. In the Tibetan Medicine tradition, the only difference between young and old, or between a healthy or sick person, is the difference in the health and flow of the life energy of the chakras. According to the Tibetans, if the chakras are balanced and spinning, the old will rejuvenate with a renewed sense of youthfulness, and sick people will heal more readily. Therefore, the best way to preserve our health and youth is to restore and maintain a balanced chakra energy system.

Chakra Sound and Meditation

The easiest way to keep the chakras in balance is through meditation, using the art and science of healing sound. Various meditation methods are universal to the human experience; they have been perfected over the eons, filtered through many different cultures, and have proven their efficacy in attaining clarity, peace, and in transcending emptiness. Those who meditate on a regularly feel more secure, feel calmer and more joyful, and more productive as human beings. Those who meditate are more effective in their lives because they use their mental and physical abilities to their fullest. Human beings often fail to realize the great latent energy unawakened within ourselves. Meditation is to the mind, what exercise is to the body. It is important for an individual to train his or her mind through meditation, and the use of brainwave entrainment chakra healing sound is the best method.

The best time for chakra meditation is early in the morning, preferably at sunrise. For an effective brainwave entrainment chakra meditation session, use headphones, and arrange for undistracted silence. Dr. Wayne W. Dyer writes in his book Real Magic, “The process of meditation is nothing more than quietly going within and discovering that higher component of yourself … Learning to meditate is learning how to live rather than talking about it…”

Comments are closed.