Amrit Yoga and the 7 Chakras: Total Soul Consciousness

Amrit Yoga and the 7 ChakrasTraditionally, Amrit Yoga is practiced to quicken the body and mind’s spiritual maturity. The manipulation of the energy fields known as the chakras is the means this ancient art utilizes to achieve an elevated spiritual level of consciousness. The manipulation of the chakras can awaken the primal life force, the prana, locked within our spines and nervous systems. Awakened prana is called Kundalini, which cleanses the nervous system, of all negative energy, enlightening and awakening the indivdual consciousness.

To clarify the subject, let’s review the 7 chakras, and the types of energy which flows through your body. Your awareness and ability to control these energies can transfigure your mental and physical states of being.

1. The Root Chakra: Alignment with the Earth

The Root Chakra, or Muladhara, is the energy of the body in physical time and space. The goal is to develop a grounded foundation and sense of stability, positively affecting both your mental and physical state. The Root chakra energy is stabilizing, and works to strengthen the legs. Amrita yoga for the Root Chakra will focus on balancing postures, and it’s essential to keep an exact alignment during practice.

2. The Sacral Chakra: Sensation and Flow

The energy of the Sacral or Swadhistana chakra, is used to foster awareness of the sensory nature of our consciousness, dealing with the primal senses, and the effects of sensual pleasures on our consciousness. This positive state of sensory awareness allows for the gathering of an ecstatic energy within our physical bodies, and is encouraged with flowing, rhythmic poses.

3. The Solar Plexus Chakra: The Power of Fire

The Solar Plexus, or Manipura chakra, can stimulated through strong, standing poses, focusing the energy into the belly, transforming into spiritual heat. The yoga postures push that energy towards the upper regions of the body. This conscious generation and direction of energy, is essential for prana to awaken, and move upward to the higher chakras.

4. The Heart Chakra: Awakening Your Spiritual Path

The Heart chakra, or Anahata, is the chakra energy associated with our emotional being. We center and open our heart with postures using the arms and hand mudras, as well as pranic breathing exercises.

5. The Throat Chakra: Communication and the Power of Sound Vibration

The Throat Chakra, or Vishuddha, is an energy derived using the power of sound. Using mantras, and chanting ‘Om’, can massage and open our Throat chakra.

6. The Third Eye Chakra: Inner Wisdom

The Third Eye, or Ajna chakra, responds to meditative awareness, and deep, non-judgemental absorption. This meditative practice is directed towards integrating the chakra energies, and a complete harmonization of Self with the world, and activation the Third Eye to a supreme sense of awareness.

7. The Crown Chakra: Silence

The Crown chakra, or Sahasrara, opens the Consciousness to the elixir of Amrita. This flows through silencing of the mind. Silence and centeredness in the noise of the illusory external world. This rare silence can be transmuted into the bliss of acceptance, and a state of inner peace.

Comments are closed.